top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSuzie

Each day different and every day new

3 A.M. I’m full of metaphors tonight and cannot fall sleep, for I’ve Zoomed around the presbytery, and Prayed as I drove through the parish dropping off food, I’ve Teamed up with so many dedicated volunteers and been heartened to hear the clapping for our NHS and key workers, I’ve Slacked by borrowing unashamedly from colleagues stores of worship and self care resources while collecting and distributing to our most beloved and vulnerable whose lives I fear for most, I’ve Googled and SMH’d, read and done prime numbers, watched Disney + and tried to get outside with the family, and supported my own circle of self-employed friends and local businesses who’ve kept me going with soap and yoga and pasta and fresh goods, and now I am hoping to#StayHome as much as I can bear, for with most of these things done, I must now coordinate what I can to help us try to get though, letting go of command and control emails and networks and handing over to serve and support networks and calls to those who are isolated, as I sit and wait and pray and hope and love and prepare myself and my children for a different way of doing and being, which I hope will be more caring and understanding, more generous and friendly, following what will undoubtedly be an uncertain time and a strange place of fear and love, of sorrow and joy, of chaos and peace, of grief and hope. Stay home, apart from walk with your family, or to share essentials with your neighbours, and support your friends with a call, a message, a pay it forward gesture, and pray for the world. Thank you to all those serving on the front line, and all those helping to flatten the curve. And, now, that includes me because Lorna has a temperature, so I won't be out and about unless absolutely necessary, but already this morning we've had a wonderful crowd out doing their best to help...take care friends!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page